One Tough Wine – Weibel Vineyards Champagne Almond

About 3 years ago, my wife and I made a trip to Lodi, California to visit the wineries and buy some wine to ship home to New Hampshire. While we were there, we visited the visitors center in Lodi and tasted Champagne Almond, an almond flavored sparkling wine from Weibel Vineyards. We liked it and purchased two bottles, one as a gift for friends and the other for us to enjoy on New Years Eve. Well the bottle of sparking wine went into out walk-in cooler – we call it a garage the rest of the year but in the winter, it’s a walk-in cooler. We never got around to drinking it and there it sat, upright, through 2 summers with temps ranging into the 90’s. This week I grabbed it from the shelf where it had been hiding and decided it was time for it to go. When I saw the article below on how to pour sparkling wine, I thought I could practice on this one and then recycle the bottle.

Well, I chilled it and we opened it tonight (outdoors just in case) and shared it with the same friend’s who got the gift bottle 3 years ago. The cork came out with a normal popping sound. When poured, it had no sediment and nothing floating in it. The color was a straw color with a quick fizz when poured but lingering bubbles for sometime after. The aroma of the almond was stronger than I remember it being when I first tasted it but the taste was very good, especially considering the punishment I had put it through. Well to make a long story a little shorter, we ended up drinking about 2/3 of that bottle and now I have to wonder what it would have been like if I had treated it properly. That was one tough wine in a good way.

Leave a Reply

